About Me

Hello! I’m Lola, a twenty-something art historian & semi-professional adventurer* who lives in Warsaw, Poland. Up until recently, I was living in the outer boroughs of New York City, and I will always consider Boston home. My time in Poland is being made possible by a Fulbright scholarship, and I’m so excited to have this blog as a place to record my experience.

(* self-employed, alas. If you have adventures to send me on, my rates are reasonable.)

IMG_6409 narrowI graduated this past spring from Smith College, a women’s college in western Massachusetts. I double majored in history and art history, a redundant-sounding combination that reflects my love for art, museums, and anything that’s old enough to have a story to tell.

Among the many other things I love are: making things by hand, film photography, baseball, really good cups of coffee, classic Hollywood movies, thrift stores, vintage dresses, Wayfarer sunglasses, and summertime in New York City.

When I grow up, I hope to be a Distinguished Art Historian/university professor. (This is only partially a ploy to wear more sweaters with armpatches and leather buttons.) As most of my life is consumed by Academic Things, this blog is an exercise in frivolity and a reminder to keep a healthy balance in my life. I won’t post often too about my research, but it might sneak in now and then.

The title of this blog is a nod to Beverly Cleary’s memoir My Own Two Feet, a book I first read as a young girl and which has stayed with me ever since. I like to think of this blog as a memoir-in-progress– a record of the places I’ve been, the photographs I take, the sweaters I knit, and whatever else strikes my fancy.

Thanks so much for visiting! You can always drop me a line at hertwofeet at gmail dot com.

Just a note: The opinions & views expressed here do not reflect the views of the Fulbright Program, the U.S. Department of State or its partner organizations.